South University


South University confers associate, bachelor’s and master’s degrees in a variety of concentrations including nursing and health, business and information technology, criminal justice and creative arts. The school features 12 campuses across the country and also offers South University, Online Programs which allows students to receive their degrees via the Web.


South University was established in 1899 by Dr. John Draughon when he started Draughon’s Practical Business College in Savannah, Ga. The college was acquired by the John South III family in 1974 and the name of the school was changed to Draughon’s Junior College. It changed to South College in 1986 and received its university status in 2001. The university opened its 12th and most recent campus this year in Cleveland.


South University is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award associate, baccalaureate, masters, and doctorate degrees. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097 or call 404.679.4500 for questions about the accreditation of South University.


The university offers several degrees in business administration including the Associate of Science in Business Administration, Bachelor of Business Administration, Master of Business Administration and the Accelerated Master of Business Administration.


Visit South University’s website for additional requirements.

The program participates in benefits for students with a military background.

Student Resources

South University online students have the full resources of the school at their fingertips on the school’s online site. The site offers its online bookstore, community blog, and student support services. Students can obtain technical support, and career services.