Sloan-C Credits Online College Contributors –

The Sloan Consortium will recognize significant contributors to online education at the 18th Annual Sloan Consortium International Conference on Online Learning in Lake Buena Vista, Fla. Oct. 10-12.

This year’s conference titled “At A Crossroads: Online Education in A Complex World” will focus on different themes for the future of online education, including quality, scale, cost, and ethical issues.

The Annual Sloan-C winners are:

  • A. Frank Mayadas Leadership Award: Robert N. Ubell, Polytechnic Institute of New York University
  • John R. Bourne Outstanding Achievement Award in Online Education: Devon A. Cancilla, American Sentinel University
  • Excellence in Online Teaching: Cynthia Foronda, University of Miami
  • Excellence in Faculty Development for Online Teaching: DePaul University
  • Outstanding Online Program: Online baccalaureate program in Energy and Sustainability Policy, The Pennsylvania State University
  • Excellence in Institution-Wide Online Education: University of Central Florida

Recipients of the Best-in-Track Sessions awards – which honor exceptional speaker submissions – are:

  • Track: Student Services and Learner Support: “Best Practices in Mentoring Online Students” Rebecca Johnston, Mitsu Phillips (Western Governors University)
  • Track: Leadership, Values and Society: “Challenges of Developing Open Educational Resources for an International Audience” Lauren Zavala, Karen Vignare, Gwyn Shelle (Michigan State University)
  • Track: Learning Effectiveness: “The Discussion Board Audit: How Will I Know What I Think Until I see What I Say?” Hayley Lake, Patrick Lordan (Eastern Washington University)
  • Track: Open, Global, Mobile: “Is OER Going to Sabotage Our Distance and Online Learning Programs?” Mary Lou Forward (OpenCourseWare Consortium); Larry Cooperman (University of California, Irvine)
  • Track: Technology and Emerging Learning Environments: “Tweet by Tweet: Mastering the Disruptive Paradigm of Twitter Through the Use of Mobile Apps and Online Resources” Emory Craig (The College of New Rochelle)
  • Track: K-12 Online Education: “The Math Place Online: A Model for Synchronous Teaching Spaces to Foster Math Learning for K-8 Teachers and Parents” Barbara Dubitsky, Steven Goss (Bank Street College of Education)
  • Track: Faculty and Professional Development & Support: “Assessing Instructor Readiness to Teach Online Courses” Mimi O’Malley (The Learning House, Inc.)

Awards for 2012 Sloan-C Fellows will also be given out during the conference.

Follow Valerie Jones on Twitter @ValerieJonesCMN